Who are the “least of these?”

This verse (Matthew 25:45) has always bothered me for some reason. I’m not sure why, but it’s just always made me a little nervous.

“Is that you, Jesus?”

I think I was just nervous about whether I’d know what to do. Today, I’m not as nervous, but I’m still thinking about it.

I was at Taco Bell yesterday (big surprise) and there was a girl, about 7 who spilled her Mountain Dew on the thing with all the cup lids and sauce packets. She seemed kind of flustered, so I helped her clean it up (understanding the demoralizing feeling of spilling Mountain Dew).

A little ways into eating, I could see her out of the corner of my eye and it looked like she was staring at me (you know that feeling?). And as I got up to get a refill (of Mountain Dew, of course) she was right behind me as I turned around.

I sat down and she stood next to me over my left shoulder and then I heard her talk, but I couldn’t understand what she was saying. So I turned around and said, “What?” and she said, “You like Mountain Dew too?” And we started talking about how much we liked it and as we were talking she sat down in the chair right next to me. We talked for another five minutes as her sister crawled on the bench and her mom ate her pintos and cheese (gross).

It’s humbling to realize that you might be talking to the person that you’re trying to represent. And as I type it, it doesn’t even really make sense. And alls I knows is I’ll probably never see this girl again, but all it took to make a connection with her was to help her clean up some pop.

So what do you do for the least of these? I know for me, yesterday is the exception to the rule. Even as I work at a church, I feel like I need time off from Jesus and kind of “shut down” when I leave the building. I’m just thankful that Jesus chooses to use me in spite of my selfishness. I just have to make sure that I’m representing Him well, because you never know when you’re going to run into Him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a comment