Top 25 90’s Songs – Hip Hop

Last week, I debuted my “Top 25 90’s Songs – Rock” list and it stirred up a little discussion about some things that were left off. This week is my Hip Hop edition and this was probably the hardest of the Top 25’s lists that I’ve made (R&B coming soon!).

These songs are snapshots of what was going on in hip hop during the 90’s (commonly known as the “Golden Age”). In order to get a good representation, I decided to only take one song from each person/group. There are a couple cross-overs, but that is because it’s part of a duet or a guest-spot on someone else’s song.

Again, these songs are in no particular order, just as I thought of them. If you think I left one off that should be on there, let me know in the comments.

1. “Tha Crossroads” – Bone Thugs
2. “Nuthin But a ‘G’ Thang” – Dr. Dre f. Snoop Dogg
3. “California Love” – 2pac f. Dr. Dre
4. “Can’t Nobody Hold Me Down” – Diddy f. Mase
5. “Regulate” – Warren G f. Nate Dogg
6. “Triumph” – Wu-Tang Clan
7. “Can I Get A…” – Jay Z f. JaRule
8. “Put Your Hands Where My Eyes Could See” – Busta Rhymes
9. “Sabotage” – Beastie Boys
10. “If I Ruled the World” – Nas f. Lauryn Hill
11. “All I Need” – Method Man f. Mary J. Blige
12. “Rosa Parks” – Outkast
13. “Bow Down” – Westside Connection
14. “Gangstas Paradise” – Coolio
15. “Get At Me Dog” – DMX
16. “My Name Is” – Eminem
17. “Ready Or Not” – Fugees
18. “Jump Around” – House of Pain
19. “What They Do” – The Roots
20. “What’s My Name” – Snoop Dogg
21. “Hip Hop Hooray” – Naughty By Nature
22. “Ghetto Superstar” – Pras f. Mya and ODB
23. “Richter Scale” – EPMD
24. “I Wish” – Skee-Lo
25. “Hypnotize” – Notorious B.I.G.

***I purposely left off Public Enemy’s “Fight the Power” because while it’s cultural impact and overall greatness cannot be ignored, I never really listened to Public Enemy.

Alright, what songs are on YOUR  list?

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Music, Observations

2 responses to “Top 25 90’s Songs – Hip Hop

  1. boomer29plc@yahoo.com

    josh,
    i don know if you will even see my message. i am hoping i could have a copy of your resurrecion free verse. i would like 2 perform on ressurecion sunday. i am sorry abou he mispelling. some of my keys no longer work,
    blessings 2 you

  2. What about:
    “Are you that Somebody” – Aaliyah and Timbaland
    “Wanna be a Baller” – Lil’ Troy
    “Gone till November” – Wyclef Jean
    “It was a Good Day” – Ice Cube
    “Jump” – Kris Kross
    “Mama said Knock you out” – LL Cool J
    “Boyz-n-the-Hood” – Easy E
    “Summertime” – DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince
    “Whoomp! (there it is)” – Tag Team
    “Ice Ice Baby” – Vanilla Ice
    “Too Legit to Quit” – MC Hammer

Leave a Reply

