Monologue: Part 1

This is Part 1 of a 2 part monologue that goes before and after a “Musical Drama” that I wrote to “The Best of You.” To read the storyline for the drama and to give the monologue some context, check out my previous post. But without further stalling, here’s Part 1. Enjoy.

PART 1

From the outside my life could pass as ordinary
My ability to fool you with a fake smile is scary
Carry the weight of the world as it’s hurled onto my shoulder blades
My passion for life fades as it’s tied to
Popularity and good grades
The American Dream seems like an endless pursuit
At the root is hopelessness trying to
Snag another recruit
I’m shooting down insecurity with words that are sure to be
Beneficial and inspired, required reading for life
Met Jesus-the Christ, went from naughty to nice
Even prayed the prayer twice
Just to be sure
I get frustrated at times
The lines blurred and twisted
Between best and the rest
My chance came and I missed it
Life filled with good but not great
Didn’t hesitate to make
A mistake or two, or three
Can’t you see?
There’s nothing left to debate
Caught up, in a sense, in what I was brought up against
Now my only defense
Is to get back the pieces
One…by…one

1 Comment

Filed under Ministry, Writing

One response to “Monologue: Part 1

  1. Pingback: Monologue: Part 2 «

Leave a Reply

