Most Dowloaded songs of 2008 – A Commentary

Yahoo and itunes have released the Top 15 Most Dowloaded Songs of 2008. Here are my thoughts on each of them.

15. “Love in this Club” – Usher – Gone are the days of sweet melodies like, “U Make Me Wanna” or sweet beats like “Yeah.” Now we have leftover synthesizers from 1984 (or from Napoleon Dynamite) and a song premise that is, well, um, let’s just say, “love” is probably the wrong word here. I’m just saying.

14.”So What” – Pink – I love Pink’s voice. It’s raspy and yet has GREAT range. So why does she keep picking/writing these kinds of songs? As far as the feel and beat of the song, it kind of feels like a response to a song that appears later on the countdown (#4). The song title is kind of like my response when someone told me that Pink had a new song out.

13. “I’m Yours” – Jason Mraz – Right off the bat, the song reminds of “No Rain” by Blind Melon. Not a ripoff, more an homage. Then it gets into a smooth, almost reggae beat that feels perfect for his voice. I’m a fan of this guy, and this song.

12. “Forever” – Chris Brown – Not too big-a fan of this song. The beat is pretty trite (and monotonous) and his vocals are WAY too processed. He’s a really good singer and I’ve liked what he’s done in the past (“Run It”), but I was having trouble listening to the whole song.

11. “4 Minutes” – Madonna f. Justin Timberlake – Finally, a pretty sweet track. It’s no coincidence that it’s a Timbaland beat. Vocally, you can’t go wrong when you pair Justin and Madonna on anything. Although, I’m pretty sure that when they say, “…to save the world” they’re not talking about a dropping a nuclear bomb in a asteroid on a collision course with earth. Great track, catchy hook, sounds like a hit (which it is).

10. “Don’t Stop the Music” – Rihanna – Seems as how I did a write up on this song on another list (Songs that make me want to change the radio station), let me just say that I can’t stand this song.

9. “Love Song” – Sara Bareilles – The blasting piano at the beginning of the song introduces you to a great song and a great artist. This song was actually written about her label when they told her that they wanted a “love song” for the album. She gave them this. It’s win, win, win. (The Office, anyone?)

8. “Pocket Full of Sunshine” – Natasha Bedingfield – While I find the “I got a pocket full of sunshine” part a little repetitive, I love when she goes into the chorus: “Take me away…”. She has a tremendous voice and the track is enough to get you moving (if not literally then at least in your head).

7. “No Air” – Jordin Sparks f. Chris Brown – This song is so much better than Sparks’s earlier song “Tattoo.” Once again, you can’t go wrong when throw two talented people on the same track (well, I’m sure you can, just not this time). While I was hating on Chris a little earlier, I think he (and Jordin) do a great job on this song and the unique delivery during the verse is enough to keep me listening.

6. “Lolipop” – Lil Wayne – This song is just awful. It has a mindless track. The song is full of innuendo. I can’t believe that this song is #6. I can’t believe how many people think this is good. I can’t believe this song was made. Maybe it’s time to dust off the ol’ notebook. I’ve got to be able to write something better than this.

5. “Disturbia” – Rihanna – It’s shaky ground when you name your song after a movie starring Shia LaBeouf. But comparably, it’s much more tolerable than her other songs. The fact that the bass and snare drums alternate rather than having a driving “club-beat” with the bass hitting on every count is a breath of fresh air. I’m still not sold on her voice. But I’ll wrap it up by saying at least it’s not as bad as her other songs. Yay?

4. “I Kissed a Girl” – Katy Perry – This song is really hard to take seriously; well, lyrically. The beat of the song is pretty catchy and even the melodies are pretty “sing-alongy” (word?). She’s got such a powerful voice that you get glimpses of on this song, but it’s such a waste. I feel like it was only written for shock value. It’s her “I used to sing Christian music, but I’m not like that anymore. See, listen to this song” song.

3. “Low” – Flo Rida – This beat sounds just like “Soldiers” by Out of Eden. So, is this guy sing/rapping? Kind of like Bone Thugs? Kind of like Nelly? I don’t know, I feel like it’s even got a little bit of a “Yeah” by Usher feel. Even T-Pain sounds like Ludacris when he comes in. The whole song has me feeling like I’ve heard it before.

2. “Viva la Vida” – Coldplay – This song had to grow on me. When I first heard it on the itunes commercials, I was like, “This is the new Coldplay?” But after getting the album and listening to it flow within the scope of the album, I’ve become more forgiving. Plus, it was great to hear it live. And if you got a couple minutes scoot on over HERE to see Saddleback’s high school ministry performing it live. It sounds pretty good…almost as good as the original.

1. “Bleeding Love” – Leona Lewis – The first time I actually heard this was on American Idol when she did it live. I thought she killed it. Her voice has great range and she really lets it show during the bridge of this song. My favorite part is when the beat comes back in after the bridge and it’s in half time. Oh man, brilliant. Great song, and a worthy #1.

So, thoughts on these songs?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Music

Leave a Reply

