Church Strategy

For the record, I’m not much of a “reader.” I want to be and really like what I read. I just have a hard time sitting down and grabbing a book. I think it’s because I’m a lazy piece by default. There, I said it. But I’ve been recently challenged by some things that I’ve been reading (I know, I’m as shocked as you are).

I’ve been reading about church strategy in a book called Church Unique by Will Mancini. It’s right up my alley. For an upcoming meeting, we (church staff) were supposed to read a chapter and be able to discuss some major themes and how they relate to how we do what we do. I’ve already read the chapter twice (with pen and highlighter in hand) and I plan on reading it one more time before our 9 o’clock meeting (it’s 7:17 AM). Here are some highlights from Chapter 14:

…”kingdom effectiveness and missional movement require more than spiritual unity; they require strategic clarity.” (Pg. 137)

…”For the average attender, ministries exist in a disconnected soup of meaningless activity” (Pg. 139)

…”People no longer want endless options…the opportunity of fewer choices for the individual allows a correspondingly simpler organizational structure in the church.” (Pg. 142)

…”With a clear pathway, it is more obvious when programs or initiatives create a counterflow or distraction to the defined process.” (Pg. 143)

…”Not all activity is progress.” (Pg. 144)

…”programs don’t attract people; people attract people.” (Pg. 149)

I don’t know about you, but this kind of stuff gets me excited. Talking about church unity and clarifying the message and strategy is something that I’m sure most of us struggle with in one way or another. I pray that you are a voice for unity in your organization and someone who pushes for the greater good of your church/organization rather than just the betterment of your specific role.

I can’t wait to read the rest of this book. Any suggestions for other books in this field? Any suggestions about how your church does it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Ministry

Leave a Reply

