Great 8

SONGS THAT REMIND ME OF BEING IN JR. HIGH (’94-’96)

8. “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”/Deep Blue Something – I wasn’t that much of a fan of this song. First of all, I wasn’t even sure what he was saying in the chorus. All I could muster was, “…she said I think I, remember the flim flam.” It takes me back because I remember getting on the bus and riding to school, before I got my Discman, (Middle Schooloer – “What’s a Discman?”) and somewhere on that 23 minute bus ride, I was sure to either hear it on the way to school or on the way home. The clincher for me was that I really thought it was about someone named “Tiffany.” It wasn’t until I was 17 that I realized that it was a movie.

(They wouldn’t let me embed any of the videos. So just crank the volume, go back to whatever you were doing, and enjoy this four minute slice of heaven.)

7. “Thank You”/Boyz II Men – I used to be really into these guys. And being a hip hopper, I loved the track and the flow. I actually liked it so much that I went out and bought the single on cassette. I pretty much wore it out and put it on many-a mixtape so I could be the fifth harmony. I love the video as they’re driving in the jeep just singing without a care in the world or any indication that they’d be irrelevant after this album thanks to some kids from Florida, a girl named Britney, and a curly haired kid named Justin.

6. “Jesus Freak”/DC Talk – This was my first CD ever. But before I bought the whole album, I landed this song as a cassette single with this, a hip hop version of this song, and a cover of “I Wish We’d All Been Ready.” Being left with such a masterpiece like Free at Last for 3 years, many of us were anxiously waiting for the next thing from these guys. When I got it, I didn’t know what to do with it. It was so different from Free at Last that I could hardly classify it. But it began to grow on me and for the next 3 years, every song I played on drums started out with that classic, du-ka-du/du-ka-du from the very beginning of the song. Go back, listen to it again, and tell me that’s not how you would write it out. Great song.

5. “Name”/Goo Goo Dolls – I didn’t own a Goo Goo Dolls album until I was almost graduated from high school. But this song (much like “Tiffany”) was on the radio ALL THE TIME. And even though it wasn’t really my style, I tolerated it. I was actually more into the video and to this day, I can still remember seeing him sit on a bus and sing. And since that was most of where I was hearing it, I guess I sort of connected with him. It, like the rest of this list, takes me back to 7th grade in Lexington, Ohio. And the more I listen to it, the more I connect with what he’s saying (even now). Another great song.

4. “Down”/311 – I just flat out loved this song. Every time it came on MTV (yeah, I watched MTV as a 13 year old) life stopped. I actually just recently (1 month ago) threw this song on a mix CD that’s in my car right now. I was all about the rapping over the guitars (before it was “cool”) and to this day when I sing along, I can only sing the chorus and a couple words in the verse. But I couldn’t get enough of this song, and that is still kind of true.

3. “Glycerine”/Bush – In 7th grade, I tried to buy this album at Wal-Mart while I was with my mom. She said no. So I got Weird Al’s “Bad Hair Day.” But all my friends had this album and got a hold of it on a tape from one of them. These guys straight blew up in 95, had like 5 or 6 hits off “Sixteen Stone” and then nothing was really heard from them again. But this song stuck out to me (mostly because I had NO IDEA what he was talking about) and because when I saw the video for the first time, I thought it was Eddie Vedder. Whoopsie! The video below is classic greatness as you can see the rain POURING down on him as he plays through it like a champ. A champ.

2. “Wonderwall”/Oasis – The only song on this list to crack my top 64 songs of all time (#6, actually). This was really the only song I had ever heard from them for quite awhile. I would have to credit MTV again for this one (and most of these, actually) because I wasn’t even CLOSE to buying an Oasis album (then). There was something about this John Lennon look-alike (and sound alike) that made me listen. I don’t know if it was the catchy hook, the simplicity of the composition, or just some unknowable phenomenon, but I loved this song. My band played it while I was in high school. It was one of the first songs I learned to play on the guitar. It endures, and so does my attachment to this song.

1. “Crossroads”/Bone Thugs-n-Harmony – It begins and ends with this song. All my friends had the single. All my friends had the album. We were all in love with Bone and this song was ALL OVER our tape players (not to mention MTV and to a lesser extent BET). We would all hang out and try and sing along and sound like idiots as we really just ended up mimicking sounds while throwing out lines like, “…and I miss my uncle Charles, ya’ll (2:34). The best part about this song was that for a rather objectionable group (lyrically speaking) this song was clean enough to play around my parents. Which I thought was great. Oh, I’m listening to this song right now and I’m literally back at 97 Kimberwick. For me, this is the ultimate “transport” song.

What songs take you back to when you were in 7th or 8th grade?

1 Comment

Filed under Great 8, Music, Observations

One response to “Great 8

  1. Man I feel old. I was in college when these songs were out! What takes me back to Jr. High… Guns N Roses – the first time around!

Leave a Reply

