I Got Stood Up

This afternoon, I was supposed to meet with a student today after a sports practice. I sat and waited and checked email, and then 45 minutes later, I realized that this student was probably not coming. Immediately, about 5 different things started flying through my head. Reasons, responses……sarcastic comments (I’m only human) were all that I could come up with. It wasn’t the first time it happened, and it won’t be the last. But I still have questions.

What happened?

You have my cell and work phone numbers; why no call?

Am I supposed to call and say something like, “Looks like we missed each other, let’s try and reschedule” when it clearly wasn’t my fault?

So I don’t know, I guess I’m looking for a little wisdom here. I know they probably had a reason, but it’s still hard when something like this comes up with me forgetting or not responding to an email, the whole world falls apart. Has this ever happened to you? What do you do? What should you/I do?

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Ministry

4 responses to “I Got Stood Up

  1. Keith

    Maybe your first thought could have been…. I hope he/she is alright and nothing happened to them?
    Yes, I have been stood up before by the organization you are a part of. After leaving, no one (especially no one on staff) every called or inquired about my family’s absence. It was as though we were never there. Like you though, I realized it’s not my fault.

  2. joshatkins

    Thanks Keith. It’s a good reminder that things do come up, and as much as my pride wants to own me, I need to push it out of the way and do what I’m supposed to. Good thoughts.

  3. Dave

    Josh,

    I have a different problem…I’ve got this guy who won’t reply to my emails? How should I handle it? I need some advice!

  4. Keith

    Hey Dave,

    Have you tried to call him? Maybe email isn’t the way to go.

Leave a Reply

