Worlds Collide

This weekend I had a collision of sorts. Not so much of worlds that are, but of a world that is, and a world that could have been. I was sitting in the front row of our Kalahari retreat worshiping with my buddies from Darkroom and I was sitting with some guys from my youth group. And it was as I was singing that the collision occurred. This wasn’t a collision that ended in rubble. It wasn’t a collision that ended in doubt. This collision ended in something a little different.

As I was standing there next to Tim (one of my dudes), I looked at the guys on stage, then I looked at the guys down my row. I looked back at the stage and that’s when it happened. I saw the life that I could have had. I saw the guy on the drums enjoying life and playing with his friends. I saw the guy who piled in a car for 4+ hours with his bandmates for a weekend of music. I saw me.

Then I looked down the aisle and saw the guys from my youth group. I saw some singing, some standing there, and some talking. I looked in the row behind me saw some of my girls with their eyes closed and actually singing; actually worshiping. I looked back down the row and that’s also when it happened. I saw the life that I live. I saw the guy wandering around during meals and talking to his students. I saw the guy making phone calls in his office until 9 o’clock at night trying to get students in those chairs because of the life-changing potenetial of the weekend. I saw me.

And the collision occurred. I saw me, and I saw me. But which one was I? Which one AM I? And I emerged from the collision certain of one thing. I’m certain that I was with the people that are in my heart. It was here that my decision was confirmed and knew I was and am right where I need to be. I looked on stage and saw my band, and I looked around and saw my students. And that was all the confirmation I needed. And when I looked back at the band, I didn’t see me anymore.

I liked playing in a band. I LOVE working with students. That was the difference when I moved to Wooster in September, and it’s the difference TODAY. They’re great and I wouldn’t trade any concert or tour for any of them.

-Pro

PS – Band – Thanks guys for a great weekend. You guys are awesome, my students loved you, and I can’t wait to see you guys again.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “

  1. yay…THAT was a fantastic post:) Glad you’re finding out who you are…-k

  2. I think I’ll be able to say that too… once I’ve gotten into my position for a while. Encouraging.

  3. i echo carter. very encouraging. i mean not many of us have done music and than transitioned to gbc churches but those who have or dreamed of both love this post. i am inspired now. i wish you were here to hug…….i wouldn’t make you suffer like that.

  4. I finally remembered my password to xanga!

  5. anathello on the 15th…yes, no?let me know.

  6. i got your message.i’m sad, but understand.having a real job in the real world, booo.

  7. a very encouraging post . . .I’m so glad you made the choice to come join us in SHOCK Jr. High misitries, we are blessed to have you.

  8. someone i know went to anathello.said it was the best show they’ve ever seen.i bet joel osteen will be better?

Leave a Reply

